New Cast Additions Revealed as Production Begins on ‘Captain America: Civil War’ 0 45


All those rumours about Captain America: Civil War essentially being “Avengers 2.5”?  Start believing them.

In their press release announcing that production has begun on the second Captain America sequel, Marvel Studios have revealed some further additions to the cast, some of which are very surprising.

Firstly, Paul Rudd is returning as Scott Lang/Ant-Man, suggesting that Marvel is happy with how Peyton Reed’s film has turned out. A much more surprising return is William Hurt as General Thaddeus Ross, last seen in 2008’s The Incredible Hulk, meaning that Marvel hasn’t chosen to forget that that movie exists and that they don’t forget you signed a multi-picture contract seven years ago.

There are also some previously unannounced but welcome returnees, fresh from Avengers: Age of Ultron. Paul Bettany returns as The Vision and Don Cheadle Jim Rhodes/War Machine also enters the fray.

The new arrivals join an already stacked cast, which includes series stars Chris Evans (Captain America), Scarlett Johansson (Black Widow), Anthony Mackie (Sam Wilson/The Falcon) and Sebastian Stan (Bucky Barnes/The Winter Soldier). Returning from The Winter Soldier are Emily VanCamp (Sharon Carter) and Frank Grillo (Brock Rumlow/Crossbones). Other MCU returnees, of course, include Robert Downey Jr. (Tony Stark/Iron Man), Jeremy Renner (Clint Barton/Hawkeye) and Elizabeth Olsen (Wanda Maximoff/Scarlett Witch).

They are all joining previously announced new arrivals Daniel Brühl and Martin Freeman, whilst Chadwick Boseman makes his debut as T’Challa/Black Panther.

Phew! Got all that?  The Winter Soldier directors Joe and Anthony Russo are returning, working from a script by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely. And the person responsible for bringing this all together, as ever, is master producer Kevin Feige.

Captain America: Civil War is released in the UK on 29 April 2016.

Source: Marvel

Previous ArticleNext Article

I’m a fledgling film writer living in Edinburgh. I write for and edit the film section of The Journal, an online student newspaper and now contribute to Thoughts on Film. I still love the original Star Wars trilogy, which started my film obsession. My other favourites include – Raiders of the Lost Ark; Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind; Blade Runner; The Third Man and The Social Network. When not watching movies, you can normally find me listening to classic rock or watching cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Watch: New Trailer for ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ 0 128


If you’re at all interested in Star Wars (which if you’re reading this, the chances are pretty high) then you’ve no doubt already watched the new trailer for The Force Awakens. Probably many times.

However, if you happen not to have watched it yet or are only a casual viewer looking to see what all the fuss is about then we’ve got it right here for your viewing pleasure.

We’ve already had trailers and teasers that are basically fan-service but this one, while still not giving much away in terms of plot, is a much more general trailer – it premiered during an American football game last night – looking to get people excited who maybe haven’t already booked their tickets the moment they went on sale yesterday.

Anyway, without further ado check out the new trailer for what is set to be the biggest film of the year:

Also check out the new, very crowded poster:


The Force Awakens features a cast of newcomers to the Star Wars universe including Daisy Ridley, John Boyega (Attack the Block), Oscar Isaac, Domhnall Gleeson, Gwendoline Christie and Adam Driver, as well as returning favourites like Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher. It’s directed by the one-and-only J.J. Abrams.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens is released in the UK on December 17th and in the US on December 18th. You can book your tickets already!

The Hulk Might Return in ‘Thor: Ragnarok’ 0 104


As was the case with the first movie, far and away one of the most entertaining aspects of Avengers: Age of Ultron was Mark Ruffalo’s Bruce Banner AKA The Hulk, who had a film-stealing fight scene with Iron Man that rivalled the end of Man of Steel in terms of city destruction.

The last time we saw The Hulk in Age of Ultron he was [SPOILER ALERT] in the Quinjet, which supposedly crashed and the man or beast hasn’t been seen by the rest of The Avengers, SHIELD or anyone else since. He probably jumped out and swam to Fiji, said Nick Fury. However, we may now have word about when we’ll next see him.

Now take this news with a grain of salt but Joblo is reporting that The Hulk will next appear in Thor: Ragnarok, the third solo movie for Chris Hemsworth’s God of Thunder. The plot of the film, which recently had Flight of the Conchords director Taiki Waititi attached, is currently under wraps but Joblo reports it amounts to, “nothing less than the Norse Apocalypse.” The Hulk would certainly be a welcome fighting partner, then!

If true, Ruffalo joins the already confirmed returnees Tom Hiddleston as trickster Loki – the last time we saw him he had [SPOILER ALERT!] faked his death and claimed the Asgard throne for himself – and Jaimie Alexander as Thor’s female ally Lady Sif.

Do you believe Ragnarok is when we’ll next see The Hulk? Is he a good fit for Thor’s solo storyline?

Thor: Ragnarok is currently scheduled for a October 27th, 2017 release.

Source: Joblo